Janice Foster

Janice is a mechanical engineer with an MPhil in Engineering for Sustainable Development. She works as a consulting engineer in Cape Town.




Zoe Lincoln


Zoe studied Electrical Engineering at the University of Cape Town, and completed an MSc in Sustainable Energy at the University of Edinburgh. She currently works in the electricity industry in Cape Town, with her main professional interest being grid-integration of distributed renewable energy.




Jacquie Greenberg


Jacquie obtained her BSc at Stellenbosch University and her PhD at the University of Cape Town. As a Medical Scientist, Jacquie has been involved with molecular genetic diagnostic testing at UCT and Groote Schuur Hospital for over 40 years. She is a Professor at UCT and in addition to being a Hope committee member, Jacquie is also an active committee member of SAWISE.



Kirsty-Lee Garson

kirsty-lee-garsonKirsty is currently currently doing a PhD in Bioinformatics, investigating susceptibility to HIV infection. She joined the Hope committee after being the first Hope Network Scholarship recipient in 2010. Kirsty has a long-term goal of contributing to improvements in health and well-being, especially in developing countries.




Beth O’Connor

Beth is an Electrical Engineer with an MBA from the University of Newcastle. She currently works for Eskom in Johannesburg.

Kate Grant

Kate has an MPhil in Engineering for Sustainable Development from Cambridge and a BSc in Electrical Engineering from the University of Cape Town. She works in London. When Kate is not engineering, she is travelling, climbing mountains, photographing, cycling, running and promoting engineering to students around the world.

Thyla van der Merwe

Thyla obtained a BSc and an MSc in Mathematics from the University of Cape Town. She has worked extensively in the Information Security industry, and is currently pursuing further post graduate studies in this field at the Royal Holloway, University of London.


Rogeema Kenny


Fadeelah Kenny