kirsty-in-the-lab2010 saw our first intake of applications, and the 2011 scholarship being awarded to Kirsty-Lee Garson, an honours student in the Department of Physiological Sciences at Stellenbosch University. The committee was impressed with her outstanding academic results, and commitment to all areas of university life. Kirsty honourably decided to donate half of her scholarship to another deserving candidate, Robyn Langenhoven, given that Kirsty had obtained sufficient funds for the year.

We are delighted that Kirsty is still very involved in our network, in her position as secretary of the Hope Scholarship Committee.



In 2012 Helen Janse van Rensburg was awarded the SAWISE Hope Scholarship. Helen took a roundabout route via film, creative writing and science (excelling in all these fields), to discover her real passion for medicine. She received the scholarship for her fourth year of studies, at UCT.




Our 2013 recipient, Candice Daniels is a medical student at the University of Cape Town. Candice impressed the committee with her genuine passion for health care and human rights in South Africa.



Sawleha Kadwa was our 2014 scholarship recipient. She completed her honours degree in pure Mathematics at the University of the Witwatersrand. Sawleha is dedicated and hard working, and has performed exceptionally in her studies. Her passion for Maths and her intention of sharing this passion with others is what stood out in her application.



kirsty-and-valerieOur 2016 recipient, Valerie Masete has an interest in Virology. She is completing her honours degree at UCT.